Skip to main content

Lighthouses of New Zealand

Maritime New Zealand owns and maintains the lighthouses and beacons that are outside harbour limits in New Zealand. Those within harbour limits are controlled by local authorities. Ultimate responsibility for all maritime navigation aids in New Zealand lies with Maritime New Zealand.

There are three categories of lighthouses used around New Zealand:

  • Landfall lights – the first to be seen by a ship approaching the New Zealand coast
  • Coastal lights – used mainly for fixing and confirming a vessel's position along the coastline
  • Harbour lights – guide vessels into port.

Maritime New Zealand has 23 lighthouses and 75 lightbeacons. A lightbeacon is a small low-range light. Harbour authorities also have lighthouses and lightbeacons.

Map of all our lights and beacons around New Zealand [PDF: 220Kb, 1 page]

Poster of Maritime New Zealand lighthouses [PDF: 4.49MB, 1 page]

Lighthouse profiles

Read historical and technical information about each of Maritime New Zealand's 23 lighthouses.

  1. Cape Reinga
  2. Mokohinau Island
  3. Cuvier Island
  4. Tiritiri Matangi
  5. East Cape
  6. Cape Egmont
  7. Castle Point
  8. Cape Palliser
  9. Baring Head
  10. Brothers Island
  11. French Pass
  12. Stephens Island
  13. Farewell Spit
  14. Kahurangi Point
  15. Cape Campbell
  16. Cape Foulwind
  17. Tuhawaiki Point
  18. Katiki Point
  19. Nugget Point
  20. Waipapa Point
  21. Dog Island
  22. Centre Island
  23. Puysegur Point