Skip to main content

New members appointed to Maritime New Zealand Authority

21 March 2013

Three new board members have been appointed to the Maritime New Zealand Authority, providing a breadth of experience in shipping, financial management, and governance.

They replace Michael Ludbrook and Dave Morgan, whose terms ended in February, and Ken Gilligan whose term ends on April 31.

The new members are:

Belinda Vernon

Maxine Moana-Tuwhangai

Maxine has a background in financial and management accounting in the public and private sectors, and operations management in the education industry.  She has held management and accounting roles for Tainui Group Holdings, Environment Waikato and Te Wananga o Aotearoa, and was previously on the executive board of Waikato Tainui.

Maxine currently chairs the Northern Region Health School and the Proprietors of the Taharoa C Block.  She is also a member of the board of Te Aho o te Kura Pounamu, the New Zealand Upper Central Rugby League and the Waitakaruru Arboretum Sculpture Trust. She has strong iwi links with the Waikato and King Country regions.


Belinda Vernon

Belinda Vernon (beginning in May)

Belinda is an Auckland-based consultant with a background in accounting, shipping and conservation. She has worked in senior accounting and management roles in the shipping industry in New Zealand for Tasman Express Line Ltd and McKay Shipping Ltd. Her initial shipping experience was gained with Ellerman City Liners in London.

Belinda was a Member of Parliament from 1996-2002 and is a director of the Institute of Geological and Nuclear Sciences Ltd (GNS Science) and a trustee of the Auckland Philharmonia Foundation. She recently completed a 10-year term as a trustee of the Motutapu Restoration Trust.


Russell Watson

Russell Watson

After more than 37 years working in the New Zealand. shipping industry, Russell retired as General Manager of NYKCool New Zealand in 2012, though continues to represent the company in this country on a part-time basis.

Russell was also a member of the Executive of Shipping New Zealand for more than 20 years, including time as Chairman. His leisure interests are also predominantly focused on pleasure boating and fishing.



Authority Chairman David Ledson welcomed the new members and paid tribute to the work of the departing members.

“I would like to thank Michael, Dave, and Ken for their contribution during what was a very busy period for Maritime New Zealand and in which important changes were begun,” he said.

“I look forward to working with Belinda, Maxine and Russell, who I know will also add real value to the work of the Authority and as we carry on our change programme through to its successful conclusion.”

For further information contact:
Maritime New Zealand Media Line
Phone 04 499 7318

RSS Feed   

Back to media releases