Record number of councils join No Excuses campaign to keep boaties safe

11 October 2019

A record 18 harbourmasters around the country are taking part in this year’s ‘No Excuses’ campaign, focusing on recreational boaties who don’t carry or wear lifejackets or whose speed on the water is unsafe.

The fourth annual campaign gets underway tomorrow – Saturday, 12 October – and involves harbourmasters and Maritime New Zealand Maritime Officers working side by side for at least five random days in each region over the summer.

Action will be taken against boaties who break lifejacket and speed rules, including infringement notices of up to $300.

The campaign has been steadily growing since it started in 2016, initially involving eight councils and Maritime NZ working together in each area to reinforce safety rules and regulations to recreational boaties.

Maritime Officers and harbourmasters will check that people are complying with the safety rules, including those for life jackets, speed, dive flags and towing with an observer.

Maritime NZ Deputy Director, Sharyn Forsyth, said it was great to see the campaign moving for the first time into the Buller, Gisborne, Taranaki and the Manawatu areas. “Harbourmasters and Maritime Officers are working together on the water to ensure boaties know, understand and follow the rules,” she said.

The “No Excuses” campaign will be run for five days by each of the councils and on Lake Taupo at different times between today and 31 March 2020.

“Up to two-thirds of recreational boaties who drown might have been saved if they wore lifejackets,” Ms Forsyth said. “Boaties speeding in busy areas is dangerous and can injure children, swimmers, divers and people in small craft.

“Safe boaties follow the rules each and every time they go on the water. There are no excuses for breaking the rules and causing risk to yourself and others.”

Local authorities taking part are :

Northland Regional Council Harbourmaster, Jim Lyle
027 434 3571, jiml@nrc.govt.nz
Auckland Transport Operations Manager, Marc Davis
021 576 292, Marc.davis@at.govt.nz
Waikato Regional Council Harbourmaster, Chris Bredenbeck
027 677 2107, chris.bredenbeck@waikatoregion.govt.nz
Gisborne District Council Harbourmaster, Sonny Ali
027 610 3100, harbourmaster@gdc.govt.nz
Bay of Plenty Regional Council Harbourmaster, Peter Buell
027 519 3559, peter.buell@boprc.govt.nz
Department of Internal Affairs (Lake Taupo) Harbourmaster, Heath Cairns
021 850 823, heath.cairns@dia.govt.nz
Taranaki Regional Council Harbourmaster, Tony Parr
027 544 6912, harbourmaster@trc.govt.nz
Hawkes Bay Regional Council Harbourmaster, Martin Moore
027 445 5592, harbourmaster@hbrc.govt.nz
Horizons Regional Council
(Manawatū-Whanganui)
 
Harbourmaster, Ross Brannigan
021 247 7338, ross.brannigan@horizons.govt.nz
Greater Wellington Regional Council Harbourmaster, Grant Nalder
027 451 6156, harbours@gw.govt.nz
Tasman District Council Harbourmaster, Dan Cairney
03 543 8400, dan.cairney@tasman.govt.nz
Nelson City Council Manager Consents and Compliance, Mandy Bishop
03 545 8740 mandy.bishop@ncc.govt.nz
Marlborough District Council Deputy Harbourmaster, Jan Eveleens
03 520 7400, jan.eveleens@marlborough.govt.nz
Buller District Council Harbourmaster, Trevor (Curly) James
021 959 279, trevor.james@bdc.govt.nz
Environment Canterbury Navigation Safety Officer, Gary Manch
0800 32 46 36, Gary.Manch@ecan.govt.nz
Queenstown Lakes District Council Harbourmaster, Marty Black
03 442 3445harbourmasterqt@smsl.co.nz
Otago Regional Council Harbourmaster, Steve Rushbrook
027 583 5196, steve.rushbrook@orc.govt.nz
Environment Southland Deputy Harbourmaster, Ian Coard
03 211 5115, ian.coard@es.govt.nz

All media releases

Subscribe Follow us News feed

Call the MNZ media line