The Port Health and Safety Leadership Group

Learn about the Port Health and Safety Leadership Group.
Port Health Safety Leadership Group

About us

We are a tripartite group, made up of port and stevedoring companies, unions, the Port Industry Association, Maritime NZ and WorkSafe NZ representatives, all working in partnership to drive a step change in health and safety in New Zealand ports.

Safety, for us, is embodied by the whakataukī:

He waka eke noa - a canoe which we are all in with no exception

Together, our vision is to create:

A high performing, resilient port sector where people thrive and worker health and safety is prioritised through high-trust, tripartite collaboration.


Who we are

The membership of the group includes:

  • Maritime NZ (Kirstie Hewlett, The Chief Executive of Maritime NZ and Chair of the Leadership Group)
  • the Port Industry Association (Pat Kirk, Chair of the Port Industry Association)
  • Ports (Roger Gray, Chief Executive Port of Auckland and Jon Moore, Chief Executive Northport)
  • Stevedoring companies (Paul Cameron, Chief Executive ISO and Gavin Hudson, Chief Executive C3).
  • the Maritime Union of New Zealand (Craig Harrison, National Secretary)
  • the Rail and Maritime Transport Union of New Zealand (Aubrey Wilkinson, National President); and
  • WorkSafe NZ (Steve Haszard, Chief Executive).


Our work

Building a Fatigue Risk Management System guidelines [PDF: 760kB, 79 pages] Port Industry Association website [] Port Sector Insights Picture and Action Plan [PDF: 2.189Mb, 32 pages] Port Sector Insights Picture and Action Plan - FAQs [PDF: 234kB, 2 pages] Approved Code of Practice (ACOP) - FAQs [PDF: 446kB, 4 pages] Extension of Maritime NZ's Health and Safety at Work Designation [254KB, 2 pages]


Stay in the loop

Newsletter updates

View all of our monthly newsletters online.

View now

If you would like to subscribe to updates about our work please sign up below:

Port group updates

In the media

Read our latest media releases:

Contact us